Cough to Release New Album, Share New Song “The Wounding Hours”

Richmond, Virginia Sludge/Doom outfit, Cough, are finally returning following an extended layoff from music. The last the world saw of new material from Cough came in the form of a stellar split with fellow Richmond natives, Windhand called Reflection of the Negative. 2016 will see the release of their third full-length album (and first since 2010), Still They Pray on June 3rd through Relapse Records.


The album is produced Jus Oborn of the famed Electric Wizard and recorded by Oborn and Windhand’s Garrett Morris. It features eight tracks (the listing can be found below) over sixty-eight minutes and is guaranteed to ooze Sludge and Doom. A new song from the album was included with the album announcement in case you wanted proof. “The Wounding Hours” is a six and a half-minute slow burn drenched in distortion. The vocals are fuzzy and embedded into the wall of sound and feedback emitted from harsh guitars and vicious drums. The track bodes well for Cough’s triumphant return.

Still They Pray Track Listing:

  1. Haunter of the Dark
  2. Possession
  3. Dead Among the Roses
  4. Master of Torture
  5. Let It Bleed
  6. Shadow of the Torturer
  7. The Wounding Hours
  8. Still They Pray


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s